Trinity’s book club will meet again on Sunday, May 16th, 6:30-8:00pm. We will gather via Zoom to discuss our next featured book, The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek, by  Kim Michele Richardson. Trinity’s book club strives to read fictional works that you wouldn’t necessarily find in a religious bookstore ; rather, literary pieces in which we can explore “God moments”.

To join us for our next  book club gathering, email either beckykoskinen@gmail.com or kagrefe@gmail.com. You can also add a book to our consideration list by clicking HERE . Our next Zoom book club gathering is is Sunday, May 16 at 6:30 pm.  Once you have contact Becky or Kyle, the Zoom link will be emailed out to you prior to the gathering.

Come join us!!

Next Meeting

Sunday, May 16, 2021

6:30pm

May

Book of the Month

Novel by Kim Michele Richardson

Order your book today!

Download on Libby, by Overdrive!

available on

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A USA TODAY BESTSELLER
A LOS ANGELES TIMES BESTSELLER
A PBS BOOK PICK

The bestselling historical fiction from Kim Michele Richardson, this is a novel following Cussy Mary, a packhorse librarian and her quest to bring books to the Appalachian community she loves, perfect for readers of Lee Smith and Lisa Wingate. The perfect addition to your next book club!

The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything—everything except books, that is. Thanks to Roosevelt’s Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome’s got its very own traveling librarian, Cussy Mary Carter.

Cussy’s not only a book woman, however, she’s also the last of her kind, her skin a shade of blue unlike most anyone else. Not everyone is keen on Cussy’s family or the Library Project, and a Blue is often blamed for any whiff of trouble. If Cussy wants to bring the joy of books to the hill folks, she’s going to have to confront prejudice as old as the Appalachias and suspicion as deep as the holler.

Inspired by the true blue-skinned people of Kentucky and the brave and dedicated Kentucky Pack Horse library service of the 1930s, The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is a story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman’s belief that books can carry us anywhere—even back home.

“This gem of a historical from Richardson features an indomitable heroine navigating a community steeped in racial intolerance…Readers will adore the memorable Cussy and appreciate Richardson’s fine rendering of rural Kentucky life.”—Publishers Weekly

Translate »